The seven finalists for the 2016 Griffin Poetry Prize have been announced. The judges – Canadian poet Adam Sol, Pulitzer Prize winner Tracy K. Smith and U.K. poet Alice Oswald – read over 600 books of poetry from 43 countries in the process of selecting the shortlist.
First established in 2000, the Griffin Poetry Prize is among the most lucrative poetry prizes in the world, awarding $65,000 to one Canadian and one international title each year. Each poet on the shortlist who performs at the Griffin Poetry Prize shortlist readings, scheduled for June 1 in Toronto, will receive $10,000.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s