And then there were five: Poetry Now shortlist announced (via Irish Times)

Winner to be announced on March 12, 2016.

The shortlist for this year’s Irish Times Poetry Now Award has been announced. The competition recognises the best collection by an Irish poet in the previous year.

Five poets have been included on the shortlist. The winner of the €2,000 prize will be announced at this year’s Poetry Now festival, which is part of the Mountains to Sea DLR Book Festival, which takes place in Dún Laoghaire in March.

The poets whose collections were selected are: John F Deane, for Semibreve (Carcanet Press ), Medbh McGuckian, for Blaris Moor (Gallery Press); Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin, for The Boys of Bluehill (Gallery Press); Doireann Ní Ghríofa, for Clasp (Dedalus Press); and Caitríona O’Reilly, for Geis (Bloodaxe Books).

Previous winners of the prize, which is now in its 11th year, include Seamus Heaney, Derek Mahon, Michael Longley, Harry Clifton, Sinéad Morrissey, Dennis O’Driscoll and Theo Dorgan, who won last year for his collection Nine Bright Shiners.

Click here for more information.


Irish Times

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s