Full Title: “With Win Last Weekend, Boston Poetry Slam Team Sweeps All Three National Titles (via The ARTery)”

In the world of slam poetry—a competitive version of spoken verse—there are three top national prizes: individual champion, Women of the World champ (for poets who live their lives as women) and the National Poetry Slam team championship.

Last October, Porsha Olayiwola—who, along with Janae Johnson, co-founded the House Slam at the Haley House Bakery Café in Boston’s Dudley Square in July 2014—won the Individual World Poetry Slam Championship in Phoenix, Arizona. In March, Johnson won the 2015 Women of the World Poetry Slam Champion in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Then on Saturday in Oakland, California, House Slam’s five person team—Olayiwola, Johnson, Melissa Lozada-Oliva, Jonathan Mendoza and Erich Haygun—beat 71 other teams from all over the country to become National Poetry Slam Champions.

This made House Slam “the first venue in history to simultaneously hold the country’s three major slam titles,” according to Poetry Slam Inc., the organizing body.

Click here for more information.



The ARTery | Poetry Slam, Inc.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s